Q:

What is second degree burglary?

A:

Quick Answer

Second degree burglary is a criminal charge often considered a lesser charge than first degree burglary. However, the exact requirements and sentences for second degree burglary vary based on individual state laws.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

In the state of New York, second degree burglary involves an individual entering a building with the intent to commit a crime. The individual, or another person participating in the crime, either causes physical injury to a victim; is armed with a deadly weapon or explosives; threatens to use the weapon or explosives; actually uses the weapon or explosives; or displays a firearm. This is considered a class C felony in New York.

Learn more about Crime

Related Questions

  • Q:

    What are some of the most common crimes in America?

    A:

    The most common crimes in the United States are larceny/theft, burglary, motor vehicle theft, aggravated assault and robbery. Larceny/theft is the wrongful taking of goods from another and constitutes nearly 60 percent of crimes reported in the United States as of 2015, with more than 7 million occurrences every year.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is aggravated burglary?

    A:

    Aggravated burglary is entering someone's house to steal something with the intent to commit another crime or while using or carrying a weapon. Not all states make a distinction between burglary and aggravated burglary. Some states allow for more serious punishment for burglaries committed with aggravating circumstances.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What information do you need to report a burglary?

    A:

    Information needed to report a burglary includes the location of the crime, the name and address of the property owner, and the time frame in which the crime occurred. Documentation or photographs of any signs of forced entry or property damage associated with the burglary should also be included.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is the punishment for burglary of a habitation in Texas?

    A:

    As of 2014, the punishment for burglary of a habitation in Texas is a sentence of two to 20 years in state prison and a fine of up to $10,000, according to FindLaw. Burglary of a habitation is a felony of the second degree, the most serious classification of burglary.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore