Q:

What are the requirements for emancipation in Maryland?

A:

Quick Answer

To get emancipated in Maryland, a minor must get married, join the military or be abused, neglected or unsupported by a parent. If the parent willingly relinquishes rights and obligations to the child or forces the child out on his own, the minor can be emancipated.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

When a minor reaches the age of 18, emancipation is not necessary because the individual automatically becomes legally recognized as an adult at this age. Maryland does not have a clear procedure or law that dictates how an emancipation is processed. Judges usually rely on common law, which means their decision is influenced by past decisions made by other judges. Every case is viewed individually, and the minor must provide proof that substantiates his reason for leaving.

In a legal proceeding, it is up to the minor to show why he wishes to be emancipated. The motives of both the parent and child are closely examined. If the parent is willing to allow the child to live independently, it may not be necessary to go to court. Legal intervention is only required when there is a disagreement. If a child leaves and the parent does not demand his return, the child is emancipated. Sometimes it is necessary to use a mediator to come to an agreement that satisfies both parties.

Learn more about Legal Ages
Sources:

Related Questions

  • Q:

    What is the minimum legal age to leave home?

    A:

    According to Nolo, the minimum legal age to leave home is 16 in most states; legally leaving home before age 18 is called emancipation. Emancipation frees parents from their financial obligations to support the minor. Minors are free from any obligation to remain physically with their parents. Generally, there are three ways to get emancipated: marriage, joining the military or petitioning a court.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What are the laws concerning moving out at the age of 17 in Georgia?

    A:

    Teenagers can move out of their parents' home in Georgia via legal emancipation, marriage or joining the military. In the state of Georgia, teens that are 16 and 17 years of age may apply to be legally emancipated through the Georgia Juvenile Court system, according to Georgia Legal Aid.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is the legal age to move out of your parents' home in North Carolina?

    A:

    As of 2014, in the state of North Carolina, a minor aged 16 or older may file a petition for emancipation and legally begin supporting himself. Age 18 is considered the legal age of adulthood, at which point no legal action is necessary for a teenager to live on his own.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    Can 17-year-olds legally move out of their parents' home in Florida?

    A:

    Until the age of 18, unmarried teenage residents of Florida do not have the legal right to move out of their parents' home unless they have parental consent or have obtained an act of emancipation from the Florida court system, as noted on the Florida Bar Organization website. Emancipation, when granted by a Florida circuit court judge, enables a minor to be removed from the disabilities of nonage when the minor reaches the age of 16.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore