As of December 2015, the process to apply for a concealed carry weapons permit in Michigan begins by obtaining an application kit from any county clerk's office or the Michigan State Police website, according to the Michigan State Police. The kit explains the procedure for acquiring a concealed pistol license and contains the application form. Some kits also list locations that offer the required pistol safety training course.Continue Reading
An applicant must take the mandatory safety class and obtain a certificate of completion, explains the Michigan State Police. Applicants take those certificates, completed applications and passport-quality photographs to the county clerk's office where they live. Each individual signs the application under oath after being sworn in by a county clerk's office representative. Payment of a $100 application and licensing fee is also required.
The next step is having classifiable fingerprints taken, the Michigan State Police continues. Several agencies offer this, including the county clerk's office, state police, sheriff���s office and local police department. An applicant must show the fingerprinting agency the receipt for the concealed pistol license permit application. After fingerprints are taken, the applicant receives a receipt for the process. The agency forwards the fingerprints to the Michigan State Police, which processes them.
Within 45 days of fingerprinting, the county clerk's office issues the permit or notifies the individual that the application has been disqualified, states the Michigan State Police.Learn more about Guns & Weapons Laws