The Pennsylvania Lemon Law requires manufacturers to replace vehicles or refund purchases if they are unable to repair defective vehicles after three reasonable attempts, according to Kimmel & Silverman, P.C. The law is designed to protect vehicle owners from being unduly burdened by defective vehicles.Continue Reading
To be covered by the Pennsylvania Lemon Law, a vehicle must be purchased or leased in Pennsylvania or registered for first time by the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation, according to Kimmel & Silverman, P.C. The law covers defects that occur within the first 12 months or the initial 12,000 miles, whichever comes first.
The law also applies to vehicles that have been in a manufacturer-authorized repair shop for 30 calendar days or more during the first year or the initial 12,000 miles. The 30 days do not have to be consecutive. Apart from replacement and refund, the law provides an option in which owners are allowed to keep defective vehicles but receive financial compensation from manufacturers.
The Pennsylvania Lemon Law requires maintenance and disclosure of a used vehicle's lemon history. For this reason, the law demands signatures of buyers or lessees on the documents of all used vehicles bought or leased in the state. This verifies that a buyer is aware of a used vehicle's history.Learn more about Law