Q:

How do I get penalty points taken off my license?

A:

Quick Answer

The procedure to have points taken off a license can vary depending on what state a driver lives in, but generally a person can take a remedial driver’s course to have a few points removed. In the state of Missouri, for example, a driver can submit an email or a letter to the Missouri Department of Motor Vehicles, and anything older than 3 years may be expunged.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

When a driver starts driving for the first time, no points are accumulated on the driver’s license. When a driver gets a ticket, depending on the driver’s offense, points will be added onto the license. Removing points can be useful to prevent a driver from a license suspension and to avoid an increase in insurance rates.

Learn more about Driving Laws

Related Questions

  • Q:

    What is the penalty for disobeying traffic control devices?

    A:

    Disobeying a traffic control device is considered a moving violation, and, depending on the state's law and the severity of the violation, penalties often include points on a driver's license, a fine or a surcharge. In New York, the penalty is 2 points and a $235 fine.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    How do you get a traffic ticket extension?

    A:

    The procedure for obtaining an extension on paying a traffic ticket varies by state and county, but applications for qualified tickets are typically made either online, in person or by mail. Many courts impose limits on the types of traffic tickets that are eligible for payment extensions.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    Can you drive if you are blind in one eye?

    A:

    According to the American Medical Association, a person who is blind in one eye may be granted a driver's license if he or she meets the state's restrictions regarding visual acuity and horizontal visual field. Most states require licensed drivers to have corrected visual acuity of 20/40 in one eye,

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    How long do penalty points stay on a licence?

    A:

    Each state has its own penalty point system, and most states suspend a license after a driver has accumulated a certain amount of points in a specific amount of time. Drivers accrue points due to speeding tickets, some nonmoving violations and even motor vehicle accidents.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore