What is the penalty for making a false statement to the police in Washington?


Quick Answer

A person who makes a false statement to the police in the state of Washington is guilty of a gross misdemeanor offense, which may result in felony level charges, according to Washington State Legislature. The punishment for gross misdemeanor can result in a sentence that ranges from probation to imprisonment.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

Gross misdemeanor is a more serious crime than a regular misdemeanor in the United States, explains Burg Criminal Defense. In the state of Washington, the penalty for gross misdemeanor is a fine or up to $5,000 and/or up to 364 days in jail. A false statement to the police refers to both oral and written statements.

Learn more about Law Enforcement

Related Questions