Q:

What is the penalty for forging a signature?

A:

Quick Answer

According to Nolo, the penalty for forging a signature varies by state, but the crime is considered a felony in all 50 states. The punishment for such a crime ranges from jail time to fines and probation.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

Nolo says that it is up to the judge to determine the best course of action to take against a forgery crime. For example, in the state of Oregon, the penalties for forgery are community service, probation or five years in jail and up to $125,000 in fines. Judges in Oregon typically only hand out the community service and probation punishment if the severity of the forgery crime is reduced to a misdemeanor.

Learn more about Is This Illegal?

Related Questions

  • Q:

    How do you check your CNA license?

    A:

    Checking the status of your CNA license varies from state to state, but most states allow online verification by entering a license number or name into the state's Department of Health and Human Services website, according to CNALicense.org. Reviewing the licenses verifies its status, renewal date and any reported activity.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    Is it legal to have a pet giraffe in the United States?

    A:

    The law on keeping exotic animals as pets varies from each state in the United States. Some states require a license on all exotic pets, some states require a license for some exotic pets, and some have no restrictions on exotic pets.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is the punishment for forging doctor notes?

    A:

    Because federal law and the statutes of all 50 states classify forgery as a felony, potential penalties for the crime include probation, incarceration and fines, explains Criminal Defense Lawyer. Legal professionals refer to forgeries that misrepresent the identity of the forgers, such as falsifying doctors' notes, as "material" because they negatively impact the legal rights of others. Material forgeries have serious legal consequences.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is a third degree felony in Texas?

    A:

    A third degree felony is a crime that carries a penalty of 2 to 10 years of imprisonment and a fine of up to $10,000. Some examples of third degree felonies in Texas include possession of 5 to 50 pounds of marijuana and a drive-by shooting with no injury.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore