Q:

What is the penalty for a first DUI offense in Virginia?

A:

Quick Answer

The penalty for a first driving under the influence offense in Virginia is a suspended license for one year and a fine ranging from $250 to $2,500, states DrivingLaws.org. If the driver's blood alcohol content was 0.15 percent or more, the punishment may also include a minimum five-day jail sentence.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

If the driver's BAC was above 0.15 percent, the driver must utilize an ignition interlock device upon reinstatement of the license, according to DrivingLaws.org. This device requires the driver to blow into it before starting the vehicle. If there was a minor in the vehicle, there is an additional five-day jail sentence, and an additional 10-day sentence is added if the BAC was 0.20 percent or higher.

Learn more about Driving Laws

Related Questions

Explore