The penalties for driving without a license in Ohio include vehicle impoundment, vehicle immobilization, suspension of driving privileges and fines. The associated penalties become more severe with each subsequent offense. The maximum penalties for driving without a license in Ohio include vehicle forfeiture and a five-year vehicle registration suspension.Continue Reading
The standard first offense penalty for driving without insurance in Ohio is vehicle impoundment and suspension of driving privileges for 30 days. This penalty increases to 60 days for the second offense, and impoundment becomes permanent for the third offense within five years of the first suspension. In addition to these penalties, the driver is responsible for towing, reinstatement and storage fees associated with the impoundment.
Ohio car insurance laws require all drivers to present proof of liability insurance when they register their vehicle. The minimum requirements for liability insurance are $25,000 for property damage, $25,000 for bodily injury or death to one driver in any one accident, and $50,000 for bodily injury or death to multiple individuals in a single accident.
Drivers are required to maintain proof of insurance throughout their registration period. Ohio courts are authorized to order vehicle immobilization and impoundment of the uninsured driver���s vehicle and license plates.Learn more about Driving Laws