The bare minimum penalty for driving a vehicle without proof of insurance or proof of financial responsibility is a fine of $100 to $200. This, however, is up to a judge's discretion.Continue Reading
Many states have been ramping up the penalties for driver's not obtaining the proper insurance for their vehicles. California, in particular, is one of the least tolerant of states on this issue. Once a driver receives a ticket for not having proof of insurance, they must pay a financial penalty of at least $100 for the first offense, and $200 to $500 for any subsequent offense within the following 3 years. This does not include court costs imposed by the judge, which can also total hundreds of dollars.
Some states allow a driver to bring evidence that they had insurance at the time of the ticket and will waive any penalties. California will assess at least some financial penalty in these circumstances, reasoning that keeping these documents in the vehicle is part of the driver's responsibility under the law.
Additionally, a judge has the power to impound the vehicle and revoke driving privileges. In this instance, the vehicle is only retrievable after the individual pays all towing and impounding fees on top of providing insurance. Reinstating driving privileges varies depending on the judge's orders and can impact out-of-state drivers also.Learn more about Driving Laws
To retrieve a car that has been towed, pay all outstanding fees, present your payment receipt at the vehicle impoundment, and provide proof of current registration. Retrieve the vehicle the same day you pay the fees to avoid accumulating more charges.Full Answer >
Unless an uninsured vehicle is added to a new or existing automobile insurance policy, it cannot be legally driven. Contrary to a popular myth, vehicle insurance does not follow the driver but is instead tied to a particular vehicle.Full Answer >
To legally be parked in a disability-reserved parking space, a placard or a license plate that identifies a driver as disabled must be displayed on the vehicle, states the California Department of Motor Vehicles. A medical certification that someone is disabled is required in most cases.Full Answer >
California law requires that every hitch or coupling device be securely mounted to the towing vehicle, that the driver uses a safety chain between the towing vehicle and towed vehicle, and that the drawbar or other connection may not exceed 15 feet in length, according to the California Vehicle Code. These towing requirements do not apply to vehicles towing a pipe or pole dolly, such as a logging truck.Full Answer >