The penalties for letting an unlicensed driver operate a motor vehicle vary from location to location. The Virginia Code of Statutes, for example, states that allowing anyone who is not licensed, or whose license has been revoked for certain reasons, to operate a valid driver's vehicle is guilty of a class 1 misdemeanor, states the traffic attorneys at Nichols & Green. The violation is punishable by a maximum of a year in jail and a $2,500 fine.Continue Reading
The range of punishment for allowing an unlicensed driver to operate a motor vehicle varies dramatically from one state to the next and is sometimes affected by what consequence occurred as a result of the infraction. The Ohio Revised Code states that someone who knowingly and recklessly allows a unlicensed driver to operate his motor vehicle is guilty of an unclassified misdemeanor, explains LA Writer. The court can enforce a fine of up to $1,000 and a sentence of community service of up to 500 hours.
In Pennsylvania, allowing a unlicensed person to drive a motor vehicle has potentially severe consequences, according to License Restoration Services. The Pennsylvania Code states that breaking this law can lead to suspension or revocation of a driver's license. This suspension/revocation can be effective for up to five years. The offender may also receive jail time and up to five demarcation points for such an unlawful action.Learn more about Driving Laws