Q:

What are the penalties if I commit fraud?

A:

Quick Answer

Penalties for committing fraud vary depending on the type of fraud. For tax fraud, possible prison time ranges from less than a year to as many as five years, according to the U.S. Internal Revenue Service. Monetary fines range from less than $100,000 for individuals to as much as $500,000 for corporations.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

Many other types of criminal fraud exist, including those relating to credit cards, insurance, mortgages and forgery. Making false statements to the government to secure benefits also constitutes fraud, according to Cornell University Law School. For example, misrepresentation of an individual's identity to collect Social Security benefits illegally can result in fines of up to $10,000 for each instance and prison terms up to five years. Both state and federal laws address various types of fraud, which is typically considered a felony offense and is punishable by jail time, fines or both, according to FindLaw. Certain types of fraud also can result in civil penalties.

In all cases, fraud involves purposeful deception by providing false information for illegal gain, according to Wikipedia. Benefits gained as the result of fraud can be money or something else of value, such as a drivers license secured by providing untrue information. Fraud can be carried out over the phone, through the mail and over the Internet, where difficulties with verifying identities make it relatively easy to steal credit card information.

Learn more about Crime

Related Questions

  • Q:

    Is stealing street signs a felony?

    A:

    Penalties for stealing a street sign vary by each state; the criminal act is often classified as a dangerous felony. Stolen street signs are not only considered a petty prank, but also cause serious confusion for drivers and pedestrians on the road.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What are some of the penalties for fishing without a license?

    A:

    Penalties for fishing without a license varies from state to state; in Massachusetts penalties include fines between $50 and $100, up to 30 days incarceration or both, as of 2015. State law also assesses a $5 penalty per fish and $2,000 for an endangered species, states the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. Iowa's court system imposes penalties to which the violator must reimburse the state $15 for each fish and $1,000 for endangered species, according to the Iowa Department of Natural Resources.

    Full Answer >
  • Q:

    What is the punishment for a misdemeanor hit and run?

    A:

    The penalties for a misdemeanor hit and run vary from state to state but may include fines of a maximum $5,000 and one year in jail, says Nolo. In addition, there may be administrative and civil penalties, such as driver's license suspension or a lawsuit.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What are the penalties for selling crack?

    A:

    The penalties for a person selling crack depend on the number of previous offenses committed and the amount of crack that is being sold. The penalty begins at no less than five years and can extend through no more than life.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore