The penalty for a Class 1 misdemeanor depends on the state the crime occurred in and the class of the crime, such as assault, but typically results in a year or less of incarceration in a county jail and a fine, according to CriminalDefense Lawyer. As of 2015, only five states use a numbered level system to classify misdemeanors, including Virginia, Arizona, South Dakota, North Carolina and Colorado, notes CriminalDefense Lawyer.Continue Reading
In most states with a numbered level system, a Class 1 offense is considered the most serious misdemeanor, notes CriminalDefense Lawyer. In Virginia, a Class 1 misdemeanor may result in up to 12 months of incarceration, a $2,500 fine or both. However, the penalty for a Class 1 misdemeanor in Arizona is up to six months in jail and up to $2,500 in fines.
In South Dakota, there are only two categories of misdemeanors: Class 1 and Class 2, states CriminalDefense Lawyer. A Class 1 misdemeanors includes first-degree petty theft, hiring a prostitute, possession of substances that are prohibited with the intent of using them for intoxication, keeping a slot machine and unauthorized operation of a vehicle. Those who commit a Class 1 misdemeanor in South Dakota may face up to one year in prison and a $2,000 fine.
In North Carolina, a Class A1 misdemeanor is the most serious, while Class 1 is considered a lesser offense, notes CrinimalDefense Lawyer. A Class 1 in North Carolina is punishable with up to 120 days of incarceration or community service.Learn more about Law