The open carry ban in Missouri was overturned in late 2014 by Amendment 5, which made it legal for residents to carry firearms openly without the need for a concealed carry permit. Prior to the new statute being passed, individual cities and municipal entities in the state were able to enact open carry bans within their own jurisdictions. Amendment 5 also lowered the minimum age requirement for obtaining a concealed carry permit to 19, as reported by Inquisitr.Continue Reading
Amendment 5 became law shortly after the city of Webster Groves passed their own open carry ban in September 2014. It was passed in the state senate despite opposition from Missouri's Governor Jay Nixon, who had attempted to impose stricter controls on firearms in the state. Supporters of the amendment consider it to be a safeguard of Second Amendment rights.
As of June 2015, there are a total of 44 states that recognize the right to openly carry firearms, according to the NRA Institute for Legislative Action. Texas became the 44th state in May 2015 to pass a bill to uphold this right. Under House Bill 910, permit holders must be 21 years of age or older and have been a legal resident of Texas for a minimum of 6 months.Learn more about Guns & Weapons Laws