Q:

How old do you have to be to serve alcohol?

A:

Quick Answer

There is no federal minimum age for serving alcohol. The minimum age to serve alcohol is determined by individual state alcohol laws that govern servers and bartenders, according to Alcohol Policy Information System.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

Although the legal drinking age in the United States is 21, many states allow servers in restaurants to serve alcoholic beverages even if they are not yet 21. This is allowed on a federal level because servers are delivering drinks to others for consumption and not consuming the beverages themselves. Some states also distinguish between the types of alcoholic beverages that may be served by age. In other words, servers under 21 may serve beer but not wine or liquor.

Learn more about Legal Ages

Related Questions

  • Q:

    When can you buy alcohol in Michigan?

    A:

    In the state of Michigan, alcohol can be purchased any time except between the hours of 2:30 a.m. until noon on Sundays and between the hours of 2:30 a.m. to 7 a.m. from Monday through Saturday. Alcohol may be purchased from 7 a.m. to noon on Sunday only at establishments that hold a Sunday Sales AM permit.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    How old do you have to be to buy alcohol in the United Kingdom?

    A:

    Only persons 18 years or older can legally buy alcohol in the United Kingdom, reports Gov.UK. One also must be 18 to drink alcohol at a licensed establishment, such as a pub. However, 16- and 17-year-olds accompanied by an adult may drink beer, wine or cider with a meal.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What can you legally do when you turn 21?

    A:

    As of 2014, when an individual turns 21 years old in the United States, he can legally drink alcohol in all 50 states. In 2014, if a 21-year-old individual resides in Colorado or Washington, he is able to legally purchase marijuana for recreational use.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    How old do you have to be to serve alcohol in Illinois?

    A:

    As of January 2015, a person must be at least 18 years old to serve alcohol in Illinois, according to the Illinois Liquor Control Commission. However, the Illinois Liquor Control Act allows jurisdictional control on the issue, and some localities in Illinois require ages older than 18.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore