While different states vary in rules and regulations, the legal age at which most drivers are able to drive a car in the United States is 16 years old. Most states have driver license restrictions that are maintained until the person is a legal adult at 18 years of age.Continue Reading
For example, in New Jersey, a driver may receive a permit at 16 years of age, and may have an examination and probationary driver's license at 17 years old. The driver becomes eligible for an unrestricted adult driver's license at 18 years of age. A learner's permit comes with many restrictions. There must be a licensed adult over the age of 21 in the car with the student driver at all times. The driver must also complete driver education to move forward and be licensed. The driver's car must have a reflective decal on its license plate, and the driver cannot drive between the hours of 11 p.m. and 5 a.m.
While laws differ by state, provisional or probationary driver licenses typically have the night driving restriction as well. Exceptions may be made if the young driver has to drive for work purposes. A probationary driver's license must be held for 1 year in New Jersey before a driver is allowed to be unrestricted.Learn more about Driving Laws
In the United States of America, the United Kingdom and Canada, a driver's permit is required of all drivers, regardless of age. The minimum age requirement and procedure for obtaining a driver's permit varies from state to state and country to country.Full Answer >
There is ample statistical evidence that teenage drivers are far more dangerous than other drivers on the road, and in light of this, it is difficult to make an argument in favor of lowering the driving age to fourteen. One argument stands to support reducing the driving age: autonomous vehicles.Full Answer >
The New Jersey Surcharge Violation System assesses fines against drivers who build up a poor driving record within a period of three years. The State of New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission mails the surcharge details to the driver and provides guidelines on how to pay, according to the NJSVS.Full Answer >
Some federal regulations regarding handicapped parking include offering a certain amount of accessible parking spaces per total spaces, meeting minimum size requirements for each space, offering passenger loading zones and providing the shortest path to the building they serve, states the Americans with Disabilities Act National Network. Certain medical centers also require 10 to 20 percent of all parking spaces to be handicapped accessible.Full Answer >