There is no written law specifying the minimum age for a babysitter in Texas. However, the state Department of Family and Protective Services makes several recommendations for child care on its web site.Continue Reading
Most states do not specify an age minimum for babysitting or have laws regarding babysitting. However, states offer guidelines for babysitting and recommend that a babysitter be at least 13 years of age, according to Babysitting-Rates.com. In addition, states do have laws outlining what constitutes child neglect, which include irresponsible child care practices.
In Texas, the Department of Family and Protective Services states that while Texas law does not dictate a minimum age for a child to be left alone, "an adult caregiver is accountable for the child's care and inadequate supervision can be a type of neglect."Learn more about Legal Ages
Each rental car company sets its own minimum age requirement, but 21 years old is common for renting a car in Texas and other states. Drivers who are under 25 years old may be required to pay additional fees.Full Answer >
Although there is no law stating a minimum age for a babysitter, University of Michigan recommends never hiring a sitter who is under 12 years of age. Young sitters may not have attended the Red Cross babysitter class, which teaches babysitters what to do in an emergency.Full Answer >
As of 2015, the minimum age to obtain a fishing license in Texas is 17, according to the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department. Youth residents and non-residents under 17 are allowed to fish without a license.Full Answer >
According to the City of Austin, the drinking age in Texas is 21. Before buying alcohol in a store, bar or restaurant, customers are often asked to show photo ID with proof of age.Full Answer >