To get a gun license Illinois, the applicant must be at least 21 years old, have a firearm owner���s identification card, and not have any misdemeanor or felony convictions, according to the Illinois State Police Firearms Services Bureau. These requirements exist in addition to other eligibility requirements for a concealed carry license. Illinois has required the concealed carry license since 2013.Continue Reading
As of 2015, there are also other eligibility requirements to get a concealed carry license in Illinois. The applicant can���t have two or more violations related to drugs or alcohol while driving, have a pending arrest warrant, or have ever been in a court-ordered treatment facility for alcohol or drugs in the last five years, reports the ISPFSB.
To get a gun license in Illinois, the resident needs to have completed concealed carry firearms training with an approved instructor, according to the ISPFSB. The website has a search function for finding an approved instructor. This individual also needs a valid identification card or driver���s license, a photograph of the head and shoulders taken in the last 30 days and a full set of electronic fingerprints. He must also provide information regarding the last 10 years of residency. There is a fee required for both residents and non-residents of Illinois.Learn more about Guns & Weapons Laws