Q:

What are some New York state labor laws?

A:

Quick Answer

There are many labor laws in the state of New York. The New York State Department of Labor governs minimum wage, work hours, child labor, wage payments and supplements, industrial homework, apparel industry registration, Professional Employer Organization registration and farm labor.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

The current minimum wage for New York is $9.00 per hour. The overtime rate for employees is one and a half times the regular pay rate. Overtime for tipped employees making less than the minimum wage is calculated as one and a half times New York state's minimum wage.

The Labor Department strictly prohibits child workers from working during school hours, unless they have graduated or withdrawn from school. Children ages 14 and 15 are limited to working no more than three hours on a school day, eight hours on a Saturday or nonschool day, 18 hours of any given week and six days of any given week. When school is not in session, minors under the age of 18 cannot work more than eight hours in a day or six days in a week. Minors ages 14 and 15 cannot work more than 40 hours in a week, and 16 and 17-year-old minors cannot work more than 48 hours in a week. Depending on their age and job, minors cannot work before or after specific hours.

Learn more about Law

Related Questions

Explore