Q:

Do you need a license for an air rifle in the UK?

A:

Quick Answer

No licence is needed for an air rifle in the UK provided the weapon has muzzle energy of less than 12 foot-pounds, according to the Metropolitan Police. Air rifles can only be purchased and operated without supervision by those over the age of 18.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

A firearms certificate is required for any air rifle with muzzle energy greater than 12 foot-pounds along with air pistols with muzzle energy greater than six foot-pounds. According to the British Association for Shooting & Conservation, UK law does not discriminate between air rifles and more powerful weapons that require licences – both are classed as firearms. This means the penalties for breaching the regulations surrounding the use of air rifles can be severe.

Learn more about Foreign Laws

Related Questions

  • Q:

    How long does a forklift licence last for?

    A:

    A forklift license lasts for three years. After that, the Occupational Safety and Health Administration requires drivers to undergo a recertification process. Forklift operators are required to have their certification card on them at all times.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    How much does it cost to renew a driver's licence?

    A:

    The cost of renewing a driver's license varies by state, renewal term and procedures involved. Renewing a license for an eight-year term costs $47 in the District of Columbia, $32 in Virginia and $28 in Wisconsin, as of 2015.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    How do you appeal a licence suspension?

    A:

    To appeal a license suspension, you need to prove that losing your driver’s license would create a hardship, says the Washington State Department of Licensing. The eligibility is based on your household income and requires documentation to prove it would lead to hardship.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    How do you renew a nursing licence?

    A:

    The exact requirements for renewing a nursing license vary among states, but they often require completing continuing education hours, paying a fee and submitting required paperwork, according to the California Board of Registered Nurses. Nurses may also have to show proof of completing continuing education hours.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore