While it varies by state, most states require a driver's license or a special moped license to operate a 49 cc scooter. Almost universally, individuals must be at least 15 years old to ride a scooter legally.Continue Reading
A 49 cc scooter is technically classified as a moped, as it has a motor smaller than 50 ccs. If an individual holds a valid state driver's license, most states allow them to operate a moped. Some states, such as Michigan, allow individuals who do not have a valid license to operate a moped if they obtain a specific moped license. Similarly, if an individual holds a motor-driven cycle license, then they can legally drive a moped without a classic driver's license.
To ensure that state laws are being followed, individuals who want to operate a 49 cc scooter should contact their local department of ,otor vehicles to find out what type of licensing they must hold. States can set restrictions on motorists based on speed, age, power and location. For instance, Illinois requires moped operators to stay on the right side of all roads, mopeds must not exceed 30 miles an hour and individuals who are under 19 years of age must wear a helmet at all times.Learn more about Is This Illegal?
In general, a driver from any U.S. state is not allowed to enter Canada with a DUI conviction, according to U.S. Customs and Border Protection. However, it is possible to apply for a waiver. Information on how to do so is available through the Canada Border Services Agency.Full Answer >
It is legal to conceal carry in the state of Illinois provided that the person has a valid concealed carry license issued by the state, according to the Firearm Concealed Carry Act. This act was signed into law in July 2013.Full Answer >
Each state has its own laws on what animals a resident may own as a pet, according to About.com, and some states do specifically restrict foxes as pets. Alabama says "no" to foxes at pets. Arkansas limits ownership to six red foxes or gray foxes. California also restricts nondomestic canines.Full Answer >
While the laws regarding application fees for rental units vary by state, the fees are legal in most states, according to RentPrep. While the average application fee is $25 per applicant as of 2015, it may range as high as $100, depending on state law, the location of the property and other market conditions.Full Answer >