Q:

How much does unemployment pay in Florida?

A:

Quick Answer

In the state of Florida, most unemployed citizens receive about half of their weekly salary, but the maximum allowed by law is $275 per week. Typically, citizens are only eligible to receive unemployment benefits for 26 weeks.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

Those who require unemployment assistance in Florida must go to the state’s website and fill out an unemployed benefits form. The form usually takes about 30 minutes to one hour. The state also offers assistance so that workers can find new employment. Once a new job has been secured, unemployment benefits stop coming from the state. In special cases, extensions may be available.

Learn more about Social Services

Related Questions

  • Q:

    How many unemployment offices are there in Florida?

    A:

    As of 2015, Florida has 77 full service and 26 satellite CareerSource Florida Centers, or unemployment offices, throughout the state. Full service centers offer all available employment and training services. A limited number of such services are available at satellite centers.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What are some common employment laws in Arizona?

    A:

    One example of an employment law in Arizona is that workers who are not on salary earn time-and-a-half pay when working more than 40 hours in a week, explains Lawyers.com. The legal minimum wage is $7.80 and $4.80 for employees who receive tips, as of 2013. However, if a worker who receives tips does not make at least minimum wage with tips included, the employer is responsible for making up the difference.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What are the laws on overtime for salaried employees?

    A:

    In general, salaried employees are not considered eligible for overtime pay, but that rule depends on the amount of money the salaried employee makes; American workers who earn a salary that breaks down to less than $455 per week are eligible for overtime pay, according to the law firm of Chamberlain, Kaufman and Jones. Salaried employees above this threshold, meaning those who earn more than $23,600 per year as a salary, are not eligible to be compensated for overtime work. This rule is in place according to the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    How old do you have to be to babysit in Florida?

    A:

    There is no set "legal age" for babysitting in the state of Florida. The suggestion by the Florida Department Of Children and Families is that no child under the age of 12 is to be left without adult supervision.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore