Effective July 1, 2014, the minimum wage in California became $9 per hour, according to the California Department of Industrial Relations. The minimum wage increases to $10 per hour effective Jan. 1, 2016.
Employees exempt from the state's minimum wage laws include outside salespersons; individuals who are the parent, spouse or child of their employers; and apprentices regularly indentured under the State Division of Apprenticeship Standards, claims the California Department of Industrial Relations. Moreover, a learner, defined as an employee of any age in his or her first 160 hours of employment working in an occupation in which she has no previous similar or related experience, may earn 85 percent of the minimum wage during those first 160 hours. Exceptions are also in place for mentally and physically handicapped individuals and nonprofit organizations.