Q:

How much can I sue for?

A:

Quick Answer

The amount that a person can sue for depends on the circumstances of the lawsuit. If suing in small claims court, the local jurisdiction has set laws regarding the amount one can sue for. Limits in district or state courts are much higher, says World Law Direct.

Continue Reading
How much can I sue for?
Credit: Paul Bradbury Caiaimage Getty Images

Full Answer

According to The Peoples' Lawyer, most small claims courts limit the amount of money that a person can sue for to around $5,000 to $10,000 dollars. Some courts even set limits on the amount of lawsuits over a specific amount an individual can claim annually. Litigants in small claims court may not be represented by an attorney.

Learn more about Law

Related Questions

  • Q:

    What is the difference between a tort and a crime?

    A:

    A tort is an incident in which someone intentionally injures a person and their property and can result in a private lawsuit; a crime is a criminal action that the state prosecutes on the victim's behalf, according to the University of New Mexico. Although crimes are torts because of the resultant action on the victim, many torts are civil matters and therefore are not crimes.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    Can trampoline waiver forms prevent lawsuits?

    A:

    Waiver forms for trampoline use or other potentially dangerous activities may help a business avoid losing a lawsuit or may discourage an injured person from filing a lawsuit, if the waiver meets certain conditions, according to Sadler Sports and Recreation Insurance. The language of the waiver must be in accordance with state law and not contain terms that violate public policies. Also, the waiver should state that the activity carries the risk of causing injury.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is a notice of voluntary dismissal?

    A:

    Voluntary dismissal is the termination of a lawsuit due to a withdrawal from the case by the plaintiff, the person who initially filed the case. Voluntary dismissal occurs before the court where the plaintiff must formally withdraw the case he brought forth.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What are the proper ways to serve a subpoena?

    A:

    To serve a subpoena, send a person who is at least 18 years old and who is not party to the lawsuit to personally hand the witness a copy of the subpoena. A plaintiff or defendant cannot serve the subpoena himself but can use an adult family member or friend, a sheriff, or a professional process server. The party serving the subpoena must fill and sign a document detailing the service rendered, states Washington Law Help.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore