Theft of property worth less than $50 is a Class C misdemeanor in Texas, while personal possession of a quantity of marijuana that does not exceed 2 ounces is a Class B misdemeanor in Texas. Carrying a firearm without a permit to do so is a Class A misdemeanor in Texas, as reported by Nolo.Continue Reading
In Texas, persons convicted of misdemeanor crimes can receive fines, jail time or both. Texas Penal Code categorizes misdemeanor crimes as A, B or C class infractions, according to Nolo.
Class A misdemeanors carry the most severe penalties and are punishable by a fine of up to $4,000, a year in jail or prison or both. Those guilty of Class B misdemeanors may receive sentences of 180 or less days in jail, along with a monetary fine of up to $2,000. No jail or prison time is attached to a Class C misdemeanor in Texas. Persons convicted of a Class C misdemeanor in Texas may receive a fine of up to $500 per infraction. The statute of limitations on pimping, pandering and other misdemeanors in Texas is two years. Misdemeanors that are not categorized as A, B or C misdemeanors automatically come under Class C jurisdiction, states Nolo.Learn more about Crime