Q:

What is a misdemeanor battery charge?

A:

Quick Answer

A misdemeanor battery charge is the illegal use of force that results in physical harm to another individual. This charge can also include objectionable touching.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

In the court system, a misdemeanor battery charge is often referred to as simple battery. This charge is for offenses that do not include deadly weapons or violence against children.

A person who is charged with this crime can face up to 1 year in jail and numerous fines and court fees. This charge can be expunged after sentence completion in most states if it is the first criminal act of the defendant.

Aggravated assault is a more serious charge and is classified as a felony.

Learn more about Law
Sources:

Related Questions

  • Q:

    What are the Texas laws concerning family and domestic violence?

    A:

    As of 2015, Texas laws related to domestic violence specify that a threat of force or the actual use of force that results in bodily injury constitutes a crime, according to FindLaw. Those who provoke or initiate offensive physical contact may be guilty of domestic violence. Domestic violence laws apply to spouses, related individuals, people in dating relationships and people living in the same household.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    Does a misdemeanor affect employment?

    A:

    In weak job markets, a misdemeanor could be the deciding factor of an employment offer. However, the nature of the misdemeanor, the amount of time that has passed and the industry of the pursued job all play critical roles.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is a Class A misdemeanor in Texas?

    A:

    LegalMatch says, "A Class A Misdemeanor is the most serious classification of misdemeanor charges in most states," including Texas. While not as serious as a felony, misdemeanors are punishable by up to a year in jail and carry fines of $500 to $5,000. Individuals convicted of a misdemeanor complete their jail time at a local facility, while felons often spend their jail time in a federal prison.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is a first degree misdemeanor in Florida?

    A:

    According to the Florida State Department of Law Enforcement, a first degree misdemeanor in Florida is a crime that is considered less serious than a felony but more serious than a second degree misdemeanor. Some examples of first degree misdemeanors in the state of Florida include resisting arrest, animal cruelty, possession of cannabis and some types of theft.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore