Minimum wage does vary from state to state, and Oklahoma has the lowest minimum wage at $2 per hour, whereas Georgia and Wyoming have the next-lowest minimum wage set at $5.15 per hour, as of 2015, according to the National Conference of State Legislators. There are six states that have no minimum wage amount on the books.Continue Reading
The six states that have no minimum wage on the books are Alabama, Louisiana, Mississippi, New Hampshire, South Carolina and Tennessee. Plans to raise the minimum wage above $10.50 per hours are afoot in Vermont, Massachusetts, Maryland, Hawaii, Connecticut and California, the National Conference of State Legislators explains. Washington, D.C. is the highest on the list with a rate set at $10.50 per hour, reports the National Conference of State Legislators.
The federal minimum wage is set at $7.25 per hour, and this rate went into effect on July 24, 2009, according to the United States Department of Labor. Many of the state laws in effect regarding minimum wage provide greater employee protections, and employers must comply with both the state and federal minimum wage laws. New York State proposed in July of 2015 to raise the state's minimum wage to $15 for fast food workers, according to CNN.Learn more about Law