Q:

What is the marriage limit in Texas?

A:

Quick Answer

Texas doesn't have a law on how many times a person can marry in his lifetime, but there must be evidence of divorce, such as a divorce decree, whenever a person marries again, as noted by the Texas Department of State Health Services. To qualify for a marriage license, it has to have been at least 30 days after the divorce was finalized. There's also a 3-day waiting period between obtaining the license and marrying.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

Citizens can contact the Texas Department of State Health Services Vital Statistics Unit to verify the finalization of a divorce. Texas also sets limits on the minimum age of marriage. As of 2015, minors who are 16 or 17 years old need approval from the court or their parents to marry, as explained on the Tarrant County government website.

Learn more about Legal Ages

Related Questions

Explore