Q:

How many years does a background check go back?

A:

Quick Answer

The typical background check goes back seven years. The ability exists for a background check to extend further beyond the seven-year mark. However, there are laws that restrict how certain types of information gleaned beyond the seven-year mark are used in an employment setting.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

Background checks are most commonly utilized in the process of screening prospective employees. These background checks typically involve an examination of credit histories and criminal records, if any. Some states in the U.S. prohibit the use of background information over seven years old in hiring decisions. Other states permit exceptions for certain types of crimes, including certain types of felonies associated with honesty as well as crimes involving the abuse of children.

Learn more about Law Enforcement

Related Questions

  • Q:

    What are the rules for adoption in Maryland?

    A:

    To adopt children in the state of Maryland, potential parents must be 21 years of age and submit an application that includes financial disclosures, a criminal background check, medical records and references. In addition, they must complete at least 27 hours of pre-adoption education and undergo a home study.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    Who is eligible to work in Big Brothers Big Sisters?

    A:

    Requirements for being a mentor or volunteer in Big Brothers Big Sisters can vary by region but usually are that the person be at least 18 or 21 years old, have a driver's license and pass a background check. Other eligibility requirements include being able to dedicate around 2 to 5 hours a week to the program and being able to keep in regular contact with the organization, notes Big Brothers Big Sisters of Chilicothe, Ohio.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What are some common qualifications of a company driver?

    A:

    Company drivers typically need to be at least 18 or 21 years old, have a valid driver's license, pass a background check, and have a clean driving history with no DUIs or serious moving violations. Additional licensing can also be required, depending on the type of vehicle the driver is operating.

    Full Answer >
  • Q:

    What are the requirements for adoption in Ohio?

    A:

    As of 2015, prospective adoptive parents in Ohio must be at least 18 years old, pass a criminal background check and undergo a medical examination, according to AdoptUSKids, a division of the U.S. Children's Bureau. In addition, they must complete 36 hours of educational sessions, along with a home study to asses skills and strengths.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore