Q:

How many points does it take to lose your driving license?

A:

Quick Answer

In the United States, the number of points it takes to lose a driver's license depends on state traffic laws, states DMV.org. A point system is used by most states, and the amount of points needed for license suspension, along with the length of time points carry over, vary.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

According to the California Department of Motor Vehicles, the number of points required for license suspension varies from four to eight, depending on the period of time in which they were accumulated. The New York DMV dictates that any driver who accumulates more than six points in an 18-month period in New York state is required to pay a Driver Responsibility Assessment fee over a three-year period. A New York driver who accumulates 11 points within 18 months can get his license suspended.

Learn more about Driving Laws

Related Questions

  • Q:

    How old do you have to be to drive?

    A:

    State driving laws require teens to be anywhere from 14 to 16 to obtain a learner's permit and between 16 and 18 to obtain a full driver's license, according the Governors Highway Safety Association. Over time, state laws lift restrictions on driving until new drivers are fully licensed.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    Is there an eye test to get a driver's license?

    A:

    Every state in the United States requires an eye exam in order to obtain a driver's license. The federal government has strict vision guidelines for commercial licenses, but each state has its own guidelines for non-commercial licenses, says the American Medical Association's Journal Of Ethics.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    How do you report drunk drivers?

    A:

    To report a drunk driver, call 911, the local police, the state sheriff or other proper authority or emergency hotline and report the direction the vehicle was headed; a description of the vehicle, including make, model and color of the car; and the license plate number, instructs the DUI Foundation. Include in the report any information on how the operator is driving vehicle, such as swerving and violations of the law.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    How many feet can you park from an intersection?

    A:

    The number of feet a driver must park away from an intersection varies depending on state and local laws. For example, the City of St. Paul, Minn., states that drivers must park at least 30 feet from an intersection with a stop sign or stop light.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore