The number of feet a driver must park away from an intersection varies depending on state and local laws. For example, the City of St. Paul, Minn., states that drivers must park at least 30 feet from an intersection with a stop sign or stop light.Continue Reading
The city of St. Paul advises that drivers can park only 20 feet from an intersection with a marked or unmarked crosswalk.
Parking rules are slightly different in Detroit, Mich. The city website advises drivers that they must park at least 15 feet from an intersection or unmarked crosswalk, 20 feet from marked crosswalks and 30 feet from stop signs.Learn more about Driving Laws
Many state and city laws prohibit parking within 30 feet of stop signs, such as in the law detailed by the Ohio Revised Code Laws and Rules. A similar law can be found in the Michigan Vehicle Code, which applies the same standard to traffic-control signal and flashing stop signs.Full Answer >
Enforced parking rules in Los Angeles, California, include no parking on the sidewalk, in an intersection, within 15 feet of a fire hydrant or at one location for more than 72 continuous hours, notes the City of Los Angeles. The city also does not allow parking by unattached semi trailers.Full Answer >
Each city ordinance is different, but some laws forbid parking within 20 feet, or 6 meters, of a crosswalk at an intersection. This 20-foot rule is enforced in large metropolitan areas such as New York City.Full Answer >
State driving laws require teens to be anywhere from 14 to 16 to obtain a learner's permit and between 16 and 18 to obtain a full driver's license, according the Governors Highway Safety Association. Over time, state laws lift restrictions on driving until new drivers are fully licensed.Full Answer >