Is Mandatory Overtime Legal in California?

Is Mandatory Overtime Legal in California?

According to LegalMatch, under federal law, mandatory overtime is generally legal, with certain jobs requiring that employees be paid for time and a half over 40 hours. However, in California, there is a provision that allows for any employee to refuse to work beyond 72 hours per week without repercussions.

The California Department of Industrial Relations goes further into detail, explaining that any employee that works more than 8 hours in a given workday must be paid time and a half for every extra hour. In California, employers are also required to compensate employees for any hours that they are "suffered or permitted to work, whether or not required to do so", meaning that unauthorized and forced overtime are both required to be paid.