Convictions of impaired drivers in New York, including DWI's, stay on a driver's record for 10 years, according to the New York State DMV. A printed record is called an Abstract of Driving Record.
Aside from a DWI, the NYS law reports that chemical test refusals result in not only license suspension, but will also be displayed for 5 years from the suspension date, whereas most suspensions remain for 4 years. In addition, every driving record is divided into six groupings: header, summary, activity, suspensions/revocations, convictions/bail forfeitures and accidents. Drivers who believe their records contain errors should contact the DMV center.