In Michigan as of December 2014, a DUI stays on a criminal record for life with no possibility of getting it expunged. Michigan DUIs are almost always charged as misdemeanors. However, a third DUI may be charged as a felony.
Fines increase depending on whether the DUI is a repeat conviction. For a first offense, Michigan DUI fines are generally between $100 and $500. The blood alcohol concentration limit is 0.08 percent for drivers 21 and older and 0.04 percent for commercial drivers 21 and older. Individuals younger than 21 may not have a BAC of more than 0.02 percent.