Prior DUI convictions in Florida stay on a person's criminal record for five years in relation to a second offense and 10 years for a third offense, according to Nolo. Florida criminal defense attorney Charles Holloway explains that a DUI conviction anywhere in Florida results in a permanent notation on a driver's record, which affects future automobile insurance rates.Continue Reading
Plea bargains may reduce felony DUI convictions to misdemeanor charges based on the circumstances of the case, including first-time offense, lack of accident and borderline amounts of blood-alcohol content. Nolo notes that plea bargains in Florida need the assistance of a licensed attorney. DUI convictions may include jail time, community service, fines, probation, driving school, impoundment of a vehicle and substance abuse counseling. Holloway reveals that punishments usually reflect the severity of the crime.
A DUI in Florida is defined as impairment due to alcohol or controlled substances. According to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, a breath-alcohol level of 0.08 percent is considered the legal limit for a DUI conviction related to alcohol. DUI penalties in the state are the same whether the conviction is for alcohol or drugs. Fines for a first conviction are between $500 and $1,000, unless the breath-alcohol level is 0.15 percent or higher. If so, fines reach up to $2,000. Fifty hours of community service, in addition to a maximum of six months in jail, also come with first offenses for DUI convictions.Learn more about Driving Laws