Q:

How long does it take to divorce in New Jersey?

A:

Quick Answer

Divorces in New Jersey can take between two months and 12 months, depending on the circumstances. Divorces take longer when the marriage has produced children, if the parties contest the division of assets or argue about who is at fault.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

New Jersey courts mandate that divorces must be completed within 12 months from the time one party files for divorce with the clerk's office. State law recognizes nine reasons for granting a divorce, including irreconcilable differences. Each of these nine grounds has its own waiting period before one or both parties can file with the clerk's office. A couple planning to file for a no-fault divorce must stipulate that their marriage has suffered for at least six months and cannot be repaired.

Learn more about Law

Related Questions

Explore