The process of disowning a parent is known as emancipation. This process is governed by state laws, according to Cornell University Law School. The process differs in each state, but court involvement is usually necessary. Approximately half of the states in the country have specific emancipation statutes.Continue Reading
Some states allow a minor to become emancipated if the minor gets married or joins the military, according to Nolo. The age at which a minor can become emancipated differs from one state to another. Many states require the minor to be at least 16 years old, but there are some exceptions. California, for example, allows a child who is 14 to petition the court for emancipation in some instances. The party, either the parents or the minor, who is petitioning for emancipation must do so in the jurisdiction of residence, notes Cornell University Law School.
A minor who is emancipated must act as an adult before the age of majority in his state of residence, explains Nolo. The emancipated minor can collect wages, is responsible for paying bills, can make medical decisions and enter into contracts. While the minor can make decisions regarding education, most states do not allow the minor to quit school. He still needs parental permission to get married if he is not at the age of majority in his jurisdiction, and he is unable to vote or get a driver's license prior to coming of legal age.Learn more about Law
Teens who meet residency and age requirements may file an emancipation petition with a county court by submitting identification details, contact information, a certified birth certificate and plans for maintaining independent income, according to the North Carolina General Assembly. Teens must be at least 16 years old and show proof of living in one county or federal territory of North Carolina for a minimum of six months prior to petitioning.Full Answer >
In most states, the legal age to move out of a parent's home is 16 because this is the legal age of emancipation, according to FindLaw. This age varies from 14 to 17, so minors wanting to leave home should check with the court in their own state.Full Answer >
Child support is not taxable for the child or the parent receiving it, according to IRS.gov. It is also not deductible for the parent required to pay it.Full Answer >
Tennessee law defines abandonment as a parent's deliberate failure to visit or provide financial support for his child for a period of four successive months. Even if such grounds are proven, the court must still determine whether termination of parental rights is in the best interest of the child, notes the Law Office of Paula Ogle Blair.Full Answer >