According to the Connecticut General Assembly, parents are legally and financially responsible for their offspring until the age of 18. Parents are required to care for 17-year-old children and make major decisions including marriage, enlistment in the armed forces and major medical treatment. They must use reasonable force to control the behavior of their 17-year-old children. Parents can also engage law enforcement if the minor runs away from home.Continue Reading
The regulations regarding the rights of parents with 17-year-old offspring vary by state. In Michigan, a 17-year-old is not legally considered a minor and is also not considered an adult, according to LawRefs.com. Children are allowed to leave the parents' home at the age of 17, but the parents are still legally and financially responsible for the child. Even if the child leaves the parents' house, the parents must provide financial support unless the parents' financial obligations to the child have been relieved by the court.
The Alaska Bar Association notes that parents must provide financial support for 17-year-old children, no matter who the child lives with, until age 18. Parents have the right to sign a contract or lease, open a bank account and control finances for a 17-year-old child.Learn more about Child Support & Custody
Grandparents have the right to petition for visitation rights if a grandchild was born out of wedlock, if one parent has deserted the child or if the parents of the grandchild have dissolved their marriage, according to chapter 752 of the Florida statutes. As of 2015, a grandparent's rights are typically limited in Florida.Full Answer >
The statute of limitations on child support requires a delinquent non-custodial parent to pay child support arrears even when the child reaches the age of majority, and generally varies by state, according to HG.org. Some states provide requirements for collection of arrearages based on the last payment’s due date.Full Answer >
In Pennsylvania, a parent is required to pay child support until the child receiving support reaches the age of 18. There are a few conditions that apply that would allow the child support order to continue past age 18.Full Answer >
A parent in New York state is expected to support a child until the child reaches the age of 21, according to NYCourts.gov. This is true as long as the child is still living at home.Full Answer >