In most states, the minimum age of a person signing an apartment lease is 18 according to Lawcheck, a legal sourcebook. In some states, the minimum age requirement is 19 years old.Continue Reading
An apartment lease or rental agreement for an apartment or house is considered a legal contract. In most states, only people who have reached the age of majority are legally allowed to sign a contract. This means that in most states, you cannot sign a lease until you have reached 18 years of age.
There are a few states where the age of majority is 19 years old. These states include Alabama, Idaho and Nebraska. Possible exceptions may be minors who have been emancipated from their parents. States may also have additional requirements such as requiring a co-signer on the rental agreement.Learn more about Legal Ages
In most states, the legal age to move out of a parent's home is 16 because this is the legal age of emancipation, according to FindLaw. This age varies from 14 to 17, so minors wanting to leave home should check with the court in their own state.Full Answer >
The federal labor law states that any minor under the age of 16 cannot work past 7 p.m. and anyone between the ages of 16 and 17 may work until 10 p.m. on weekdays and until midnight on weekends. Every state has its own rules, which can vary from the federal mandates due to various programs or situations like school work programs or someone who is not in traditional school.Full Answer >
In the United States, no federal law exists setting an age at which children can stay home along unsupervised, although some states have certain restrictions on age for children to stay home alone as well as duration of unsupervised period. Generally, individual families have quite a bit of flexibility in determining when children are physically and emotionally mature enough to remain home without parental supervision. Although most states do not have specific ages for leaving kids alone, some states, such as Maryland, require children who are age 8 or younger to have adult supervision, such as a babysitter or nanny, when parents must leave the home.Full Answer >
The "age of majority" in most states is 18, and with that age comes the ability to serve in the military, get married and vote, explains the National Conference of State Legislatures. An 18-year-old is considered an adult and can make choices about his own life.Full Answer >