Depending upon certain conditions, the legal dropout age in Texas is either 16 or 17. These conditions are defined in Texas state statute Sec. 25.086.
According to Sec. 28.086, a child does not have to attend school if they are 17 years of age and taking a course to prepare for the high school equivalency exam. The child must also fit certain conditions: have parental permission, be required by court order to take the course, prove established residence apart from their guardian or prove homelessness. A 17-year-old does not have to attend school if he has already received his high school diploma or equivalency certificate.
If the child is 16, he may be allowed to drop out if he is taking a equivalency exam prep course, is under the guardianship of a public agency or enrolled in Job Corps.