Tint laws vary from state to state, with each state allowing a different amount of light transmittance, which measures how much light passes through and the degree of visibility through the windows, states FindLaw. However, most states allow medical necessity exceptions that allow certain individuals to tint their windows beyond what the law allows. The amount of tint allowed on the front windshield may vary from what is allowed on the side and rear windows.Continue Reading
For example, in Kansas, the front side, back side and rear windows must allow at least 35 percent of visible light to pass through both the film and the factory tint of the window, according to WindowTint.com. Kansas state laws also prohibits the use of a red, amber or yellow tint. In Pennsylvania, on the other hand, the front, back and rear windows must allow at least 70 percent light transmittance, while tint is prohibited on the windshield.
Certain medical conditions, such as lupus, melanoma, photosensitivity and an allergy to the sun, qualify for exemptions to tint laws, reports FindLaw. An individual may need to fill out a state application, and he may need documentation that identifies the medical necessity and states the amount of allowable amount sunlight exposure for his condition, and also identifies the vehicles in which the exemption to the tint laws applies.Learn more about Is This Illegal?