Under Michigan adoption laws, anyone can be adopted, but children who are 14 years of age or older cannot be adopted unless they are able to give their own consent, according to Find Law. State law also provides that prospective adoptive parents have 21 days to challenge a denial.Continue Reading
There are many different types of adoption under Michigan law, Find Law explains. The most common adoptions are infant adoptions, state adoptions, step-parent adoptions, relative adoptions, inter-country and interstate adoptions, and adult adoptions. Anyone may adopt, but if married, the spouse must join in on the motion to adopt according to Michigan Law. Unless waived by the court, there is a six-month home residency requirement prior to the finalization of an adoption.
Michigan law allows for the adoption of a child whose parent's parental rights were terminated by family court, and those children are then committed to the state, states Find Law. The Michigan Department of Health and Human Services is the agency responsible for the adoptive placement of those children, and the agency works in coordination with child-placing agencies under contract with the state of Michigan. The children fall into a number of different groups, including older children, children with physical, mental or emotional impairments, and family groups with two or more children.Learn more about Law