Adult residents aged 21 and older can grow a maximum of six marijuana plants per person in Colorado. No more than three cannabis plants should be maturing or flowering at any time, and they should be for personal use, according to the State of Colorado. The number of plants growing in any residence cannot exceed 12, regardless of how many adults live in the home. Cannabis plants can grow only in locked enclosures.Continue Reading
Only authorized adults should access growing cannabis plants, and individuals should keep children and pets away from the plants, cautions the State of Colorado. It is a class one misdemeanor for any person to grow six or fewer plants, or allow someone else to do so on his land, for any reason other than personal use. Conviction can result in a six to 18 months jail sentence or a fine not exceeding $5,000 or both, reports the Criminal Defense Lawyer.
The growth of between seven and 29 cannabis plants is a class five felony and attracts a penalty ranging from one to three years behind bars. A person who grows 30 or more plants, or runs a concentrate processing operation of marijuana or allows such activities on his land is guilty of a class four felony. The person may face a two to six-year jail term, a fine ranging from $2,000 and $500,000 or both, the Criminal Defense Lawyers warns.Learn more about Law