In the United States, the laws concerning riding in the front seat of cars are collectively referred to as child passenger safety laws. The federal government recommends all states to have laws restricting the ability of minors to ride in the front seat, but states have the authority to establish their own rules. In many locations, children are ineligible to ride in the front seat of a car until they reach a certain age, height or weight.Continue Reading
Restrictions for child passengers are implemented for various stages of childhood, and many concern the safe transportation of infants in car seats. Restrictions and regulations for car seats may exist in three categories. Some laws govern the use of rear-facing infant seats while others cover infants placed in forward-facing child seats or children riding in booster seats. Among these categories, some regulations are more widespread than others.
In all 50 states, for instance, parents must use child safety seats for all infants and young children who meet certain criteria for age, height and weight. Most states, with the exception of Florida and South Dakota, require children to use booster seats when they are too large for car seats yet cannot yet safely use adult belts. Penalties for failure to abide by state laws often result in fines and issue of driver’s license points.Learn more about Driving Laws
A white curb can be meant to designate several different things depending on the laws of the city or town, like a passenger load and unload zone or a reserved spot for police or fire department vehicles. White curbs often designate tow-away zones where people are only permitted to park for a few minutes or not at all.Full Answer >
In most states, 7-year-old children are permitted to sit in the front seat of a car provided they are in a child or booster seat; however, in California, Georgia, New Jersey, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Wyoming and Washington, a 7-year-old is only allowed to sit in the front seat if the back seat is unavailable or, in Washington's case, impractical. Despite the varying state regulations, it is recommended by the United States Centers for Disease Control and Prevention that all children aged 12 or less are seated in the back seat of a car, which is a recommendation that is law in Puerto Rico. This is because passenger seat airbags pose the risk of death to young children.Full Answer >
A child has to be at least 5 years old and weigh 40 pounds or more to ride in the front seat. There is no limitation if the vehicle doesn't have a back seat or if the front seat does not have a passenger-side airbag, according to buckleupnc.org.Full Answer >
Many state and city laws prohibit parking within 30 feet of stop signs, such as in the law detailed by the Ohio Revised Code Laws and Rules. A similar law can be found in the Michigan Vehicle Code, which applies the same standard to traffic-control signal and flashing stop signs.Full Answer >