In Indiana, a landlord must serve a notice to the tenant in regards to unpaid rent or violation of agreement terms, according to Laws.com. The tenant has 10 days to respond. If the matter is not remedied within the allotted timeframe, the landlord can file a complaint with the district court.Continue Reading
Laws.com also states that a sheriff, landlord or server typically serves a court summons to the tenant that details why the tenant is being evicted. Indiana has two hearings for the eviction process. One hearing determines whether a tenant can be evicted. The second hearing establishes how much money is owed to the landlord. Occupants are not required to attend the hearings, but the judge rules in favor of the plaintiff by default. The defendant also has a chance to win the case if the landlord has violated the lease terms.
Laws.com also notes that if the landlord is granted eviction, the sheriff issues a notice to leave the premises. In Indiana, a tenant has 24 hours to vacate the domicile. The landlord is also required to give leftover possessions to a storage facility that charges fees to the tenant. Certain items are exempt from the fees, such as clothing, medical supplies and tools. If an evicted tenant does not pay fees for non-exempted items, these possessions stand the risk of being sold or discarded.Learn more about Law
To evict a tenant, the landlord must serve a written notice to pay or vacate and then a notice to vacate or comply with the terms of the lease or rental agreement, according to the Tenants Union of Washington State. A landlord must then file a lawsuit to evict.Full Answer >
A rental lease agreement includes the names of every tenant, the limits on occupancy, the terms of tenancy, the rent, and any deposits or fees, writes Nolo. Responsibilities for repairs and maintenance, legal right of access to property, and other restrictions should also be detailed.Full Answer >
A 30-day notice to vacate should include the landlord's name, address, the date the letter is written and the tenant's intention to vacate. Letters that inform a landlord of a tenant’s intention to vacate a home, business or apartment must be written professionally, and they must include these pieces of crucial information.Full Answer >
The eviction process in the state of Texas begins with a written notice from the landlord, delivered in person or by mail, to the tenant, according to Harris County Justice of the Peace Courts. The tenant is given three days notice to vacate unless the lease agreement states otherwise.Full Answer >