As of February 2015, a property owner in the state of Florida may be eligible to receive a homestead exemption of up to $50,000, according to the Florida Department of Revenue. The property owner must provide proof of residence to qualify.Continue Reading
The state of Florida grants a standard $25,000 that applies to taxes on the assessed value of a qualified property, as explained by the Charlotte County Property Appraiser. An additional exemption of up to $25,000 may also apply to non-school taxable values greater than $50,000 and up to $75,000. The deadline to apply is March 1 of the qualifying year.
To qualify, a property owner must provide proof that the property is his permanent residence as of January 1 of the qualifying year, confirms the Charlotte County Property Appraiser. The owner is required to provide the legal title or deed to the property, his Social Security number and that of his spouse, and an acceptable form of identification listing the property as his legal residence.
A valid Florida state-issued identification card or driver's license, voter's or vehicle registration, or tax return are all acceptable forms of proof of residency, according to the Palm Beach County Property Appraiser. If the owner or spouse are receiving any other residence-based exemptions, they do not qualify.Learn more about Law