Garage sale permit rules are federal, state and city regulations imposed upon those who hold garage or yard sales to sell unneeded household items, reports About.com. These rules include the obtaining of permits, frequency of garage sale events, hours of operation, placement of signs and payment of taxes.Continue Reading
Many cities require garage sale holders to obtain permits, but the price of permits and specific garage sale regulations vary from place to place, according to About.com. For instance, in Oklahoma City as of 2015, permits are $7, households can hold only two garage sales annually, and the city allows only one sign no larger than 12 square feet in front of the house. In Long Beach, California, permits are $17, and garage sale holders must display the permits conspicuously during the sale, states the City of Long Beach. For multi-family garage sale events, each family must have a separate permit. In Mamaroneck, New York, permits cost $20, and the town allows residents to hold only one garage sale per year for three consecutive days, according to the town of Mamaroneck.
Because garage sale holders generally pay more for items than they sell them for, proceeds from garage sales are not federally taxable, reports the IRS. An exception is when a person holds garage sales regularly as a business. State sales tax regulations vary, and garage sale holders should check with taxing authorities before initiating a garage sale, advises About.com.Learn more about Law