Fourth degree sexual assault is defined as sexual contact with an individual who has not given consent. It is considered a Class A misdemeanor and is not considered a violent sexual assault. Sexual contact in a fourth degree sexual assault consists of intentionally touching intimate areas of the body and/or penetration with the hands.Continue Reading
Fourth degree sexual assault is the least severe of all sexual assault charges, and while it is not categorized as violent, it still leaves victims feeling violated and traumatized. Fourth degree sexual offenders are required to register with the authorities upon their release from jail . Fourth degree sexual offense penalties may include a fine and jail time.
Sexual misconduct in a fourth degree sexual assault charge also includes engaging in sexual intercourse with an individual who is 16 or 17 when the perpetrator is at least four years older than the victim. Even if the 16- or 17-year-old gave consent, the teenager's parents have the right to file charges based on the fact that their child is still considered a minor. While fourth degree sexual assault is considered a misdemeanor, first, second, and third degree sexual assault are all considered felonies, punishable with high fines and prison time.Learn more about Crime
Simple assault charges are usually misdemeanor criminal charges filed against a person accused of an assault that resulted in minor or no injury to the victim. State laws vary, but often simple assault can be anything that causes a person to fear imminent bodily harm.Full Answer >
The most common crimes in the United States are larceny/theft, burglary, motor vehicle theft, aggravated assault and robbery. Larceny/theft is the wrongful taking of goods from another and constitutes nearly 60 percent of crimes reported in the United States as of 2015, with more than 7 million occurrences every year.Full Answer >
Misdemeanor simple assault in a federal case carries a maximum penalty of 6 months in prison and potentially includes a fine of up to $1000. The maximum sentence for simple assault at the state level varies from state to state.Full Answer >
Fourth-degree assault in Washington state is an assault which is not a first-, second-, or third-degree assault, each of which is a more serious crime. Fourth-degree assault is a gross misdemeanor, according to the Washington State Legislature. It is punishable by the judgment of a court of up to 364 days in county jail and up to $5,000, according to Christine Beckwith, Attorney at Law.Full Answer >