A fourth-degree misdemeanor in Ohio is the second-lowest criminal offense, according to Nolo. Examples of fourth-degree misdemeanors are disturbing a lawful meeting, failure of five or more people to disperse at the order of an officer or public official, and knowingly selling or donating contaminated blood.
In Ohio, misdemeanors are classified into five categories, with fifth-degree, or minor, misdemeanors being the least serious and first-degree misdemeanors being the most serious, states Nolo. Punishment for misdemeanors escalates with the severity of the offense. Punishment of a fourth-degree misdemeanor is up to 30 days in jail and a fine of up to $250.