According to the criminal defense team of Silverman, Thompson, Slutkin and White, fourth degree burglary is the act of being inside a house or building of another without permission. This also includes entering a person's yard without his permission with the intent to steal from his yard or the attached house.Continue Reading
Fourth degree burglary is also commonly referred to as breaking and entering. Although the physical act of “breaking” does not need to occur, it is simply the act of entering a secure premises without the legal consent to do so. The Silverman, Thompson, Slutkin, and White website also states that being in possession of burglar’s tools, such as a crowbar or picklock, with the intent to use said tools to break into someone’s house, storehouse or car is classified as fourth degree burglary. Under Maryland State Law burglary is categorized into four different degrees, with first degree burglary being the most serious offense, and fourth degree burglary being the least serious offense. Burglary investigations can be challenging and often require the use of evidence such as fingerprints and cellphone technology.
Penalties may vary, but according to the Maryland Criminal Defense Lawyers website, fourth degree burglary is classified as a misdemeanor and could potentially be penalized with up to three years in prison. There are several specific factors pertaining to each individual case that determine the extent of the penalty received.Learn more about Crime
Fourth degree sexual assault is defined as sexual contact with an individual who has not given consent. It is considered a Class A misdemeanor and is not considered a violent sexual assault. Sexual contact in a fourth degree sexual assault consists of intentionally touching intimate areas of the body and/or penetration with the hands.Full Answer >
Theft in the fourth degree is a serious misdemeanor in most states and does not carry a minimum sentence for first-time offenders. What constitutes fourth-degree theft differs from state to state, but it is typically based on a range of value for property taken that falls well below $1000.Full Answer >
Aggravated burglary is entering someone's house to steal something with the intent to commit another crime or while using or carrying a weapon. Not all states make a distinction between burglary and aggravated burglary. Some states allow for more serious punishment for burglaries committed with aggravating circumstances.Full Answer >
As of 2014, the punishment for burglary of a habitation in Texas is a sentence of two to 20 years in state prison and a fine of up to $10,000, according to FindLaw. Burglary of a habitation is a felony of the second degree, the most serious classification of burglary.Full Answer >